Syracuse football announces Heisman campaign for running back Sean Tucker

Syracuse, NY – Sean Tucker fans will be thrilled with Syracuse’s most recent football announcement.

The program officially launched Tucker’s 2022 Heisman Trophy campaign on Monday, complete with a hashtag and microsite. The hashtag, “#PL34SED,” is a play on Tucker’s frequent use of the word when evaluating his performance via Twitter after the game. He even used it in his engagement announcement in 2020.

The website features videos and stories to get to know Tucker better, a link to his official merchandise, highlights and stats, a list of his awards, and the official campaign video.

The Heisman Trophy is awarded annually to the most outstanding player in college football. It is named after American football player, coach and sports journalist John W. Heisman.

Syracuse legend Ernie Davis is the only player on the program to win the Heisman Trophy. He became the first African-American recipient of the award when he won it in 1961 after a stellar season. Davis rushed for 823 yards and 15 touchdowns, breaking multiple program records. Two seasons prior, he helped lead SU to their only national title.

Orange quarterback Don McPherson was a finalist for the trophy in 1987, losing to Notre Dame wide receiver Tim Brown.

Since its founding in 1935, only 38 running backs, including Davis, have won the prestigious award. Alabama’s Derrick Henry was the most recent running back to win the award when he brought it home after his junior season in 2015.

Last year, Robert Griffin III, the 2011 Heisman winner, put Tucker on his top 5 list for the trophy a month into the season. The running back finished the year with a program-best 1,496 rushing yards and 12 rushing touchdowns. He was the top offensive vote-getter in 2021 All-ACC voting.

During the ACC kickoff last week, Syracuse coach Dino Babers said Tucker was “not the same” player as last year, praising his off-season work to improve his game for 2022.

Tucker has previously been named to watch lists for the Doak Walker Award and the Maxwell Award; he was a semi-finalist for both awards in 2021. He was also named a preseason All-American by multiple publications.

Several other ACC players will likely compete for Heisman ratings this season.

NC State has already soft-launched a campaign for Devin Leary under the slogan “DLeary Delivers,” but refrained from officially labeling it as a trophy offer.

The quarterback has made several appearances on the now-defunct ACC network’s “Packer & Durham,” delivered snow cones to kids at summer camps and shipped designer hats to members of the media. The program uses “#DLD13” for the campaign.

Since July 19, Ohio State QB CJ Stroud has been the favorite to win the trophy, according to Action Network. Alabama QB Bryce Young and USC QB Caleb Williams also have high odds. Young was the 2021 Heisman recipient.

Voting for the 2022 Heisman Trophy will begin in November, with four finalists announced on December 5. The winner of the trophy will then be announced live from New York on December 10 at 8 p.m. on ESPN.

Contact Emily Leiker anytime: E-mail | Twitter


SU Football’s Mikel Jones Named to Top Linebacker Awards Watch List

Axe: hard lesson for the army of Boeheim; ACC commissioner drops the ball on media day (quick takes)

Syracuse soccer ball carrier Ike Daniels announces engagement

One of ACC’s top QBs ‘grew up’ under SU coach Jason Beck: ‘He’s ultra competitive’

Mikel Jones says other programs tried to recruit him away from Syracuse. Why did he stay?

Garrett Shrader confident he fits in with new Syracuse coaches: ‘It’s my offense, my team’

Previous Comcast opens new Xfinity store in Alexandria
Next Victim offers reward for information after iconic collectibles worth thousands of dollars were stolen from West Side warehouse